Day 12 through 28

I’ve been busy.  I’m still playing with the Pink Houses but I took a commissioned job for a theater piece that apparently needed me to bring it to fruition.  I recently finished the book Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and am embracing some of the wisdom she shared.  It’s a philosophy I can easily sink into and lo and behold, this work came across my path.

The pictures show the 6′ x 8′ canvas which is a “poster” for the production The Elephant Man, performed soon in Bemidji, MN.  It’s much further along than this but gives a snippet of how it will look.  I took the job with not much time before the show goes live, so my learning curve on this one was huge!  I also underestimated the time it would take and the challenges of not having a studio space to accommodate this type of work has been eye-opening as well.

Regardless, it’s been a blast watching this come to life.

The other photo is keeping my Pink Houses project alive.  I recycled an old artwork to created a demo for a string art project to show some high schoolers.  It’s a throwback to the 70’s, but fun to do something a kitsch.

 

Leave a Reply

